Veteran Selangor lawmaker Ng Suee Lim (DAP-Sekinchan) was appointed chairperson of the public accounts committee (PAC), after state opposition leader Shamsudin Lias (BN-Sungai Burong) rejected the offer of the post.

At the sitting today, Selangor Menteri Besar Abdul Khalid Ibrahim moved a motion to establish the PAC, as well as proposed seven assemblypersons as its members. 

NONEApart from Shamsudin, the others named were Amiruddin Setro (BN-Jeram), Amirudin Shari (PKR-Batu Caves), Lee Chin Cheh (PKR-Kajang), R Rajiv (DAP-Bukit Gasing), Mohd Shafie Ngah (PAS-Bangi) and Ng (right).

Shamsudin asked for the motion to be debated when speaker Hannah Yeoh instructed the House to vote on the motion.

NONEAfter Yeoh (left)rejected the request, he registered his objection to his nomination and asked to be retained as only a committee member.

She then asked Khalid to submit another name-list, which then proposed Ng as PAC head. The House approved the motion.

Later during the sitting, Ng slammed Shamsudin for rejecting the appointment which is a convention in many Commonwealth countries.

“Why? We want to create a state assembly which practises healthy democracy. The opposition has to help, don't just object ....,” he said.

NONEShamsudin(right) denied that the opposition is not committed to a democratic assembly, noting that BN assemblypersons have accepted membership of other special committees.

“If you really practise democracy, I have the right to accept or decline the menteri besar's suggestion. This is democracy,” he said.

Senior state exco member Teng Chang Khim later moved a motion to establish a Special Select Committee on Competency, Accountability and Transparency (Selcat), with Yeoh as its chairperson. This too was passed by the House.

The Selcat members comprise Nik Nazmi Nik Ahmad (PKR-Seri Setia), Dr Abdul Rani Osman (PAS-Meru), Saari Sungib (PAS-Ulu Kelang), Azmin Ali (PKR-Bukit Antarabangsa) and Sulaiman Abdul Razak (BN-Permatang).

Another seven special committees were created, including new ones on poverty eradication and assembly management that are led by Saari Sungib and Yeoh respectively.